Last Friday I went along to brand new Britomart venue REC to catch local heroes Cut Off Your Hands:First things first, holy shit REC is sick. Record store/cafe by day and bar/gig venue by night, within 10 minutes of getting in I could tell I’m going to end up spending a lot of time in that place. I mean, I’m not going to arrive early enough to catch the bands sound-checking (which was weird but dope) every time I go there, and I’m assuming Martyn Pepperell won’t be on the decks every time either but the vibe of the place is exactly what Britomart and even just the whole downtown part of the city was missing. They have lots of toilets! They have $5 cans of Waikato Draught! They have a pretty high stage which I imagine means people further back can still see what’s going on!* The sound system is seriously impressive and the only thing even close to a downside would be that the stage lights were a little bright on the front of the crowd and even then that’s not a big deal. I’m very stoked with how dope this place is, and can’t wait to go back again soon

yukonera
Yukon Era @ REC

Yukon Era are a band whose name I’ve seen floating around a lot lately, and their set on Friday was good evidence of why that is. Their set was noisy, tight and explosive, and their collective take down of a heckler complaining about a rock gig being too loud was hilarious. I wasn’t planning on doing too much research before next years Laneway Festival, but I’ll be making an exception for these dudes and catching them live again whenever I get the chance

cuyh
Cut Off Your Hands @ REC

Cut Off Your Hands were one of the first bands I ever saw live. It was at the first Big Day Out I managed to get to back in 2008, and my memory of that day is pretty hazy but I’m pretty sure I remember: 1) lead singer Nick Johnston crowd surfing with a broken leg 2) doing the macarena in a circle pit and 3) enjoying the shit out of it. Back then, I wasn’t really interested in music beyond the heaviest of metal (I will never forgive myself for missing out on seeing Brand New) so I didn’t keep up with their music or see them again until this years Others Way festival. I was already planning on going after missing out on a ticket to the inaugural festival in 2015 and among the few concrete plans I had for the day was seeing Cut Off Your Hands close the night. That gig and the past one this Friday are up there as far as favourite local shows go. It’s been a while since I’ve had that much fun in a mosh, and being surrounded by so many people singing along to such sick jams is always a blast. They filled their set with a mix of old favourites and a couple of new songs, and all of it sounded incredible. If you’ve never seen these guys live, or even if you have but not in a while, PLEASE go see them. You won’t regret it**


*I was up front the whole time so don’t quote me on this one

**You might tho, not all music is made for all audiences and your tastes might be wildly different to mine ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

One thought on “Live: Cut Off Your Hands w/ Yukon Era @ REC

Leave a Reply

