YO. This is late and you can blame Rogue One (and not me) for that. I’ve talked before about my aversion to doing a year-end list of any kind but I’ve figured out something I can do instead so keep an eye out for that this week. This is probably the last proper weekly list of the year but I’m thinking about what I’ll be doing with those and will probs have that sorted this week

Playlist is as always up HERE. ICYMI I finally got to see Angel Olsen live and wrote about it over HERE

Click through for this weeks words


clppng-clppngClipping – Get Up (feat. Mariel Jacoda)

I’ll be writing more about this during the week, but for those who don’t know I’ve limited the amount of new records I’ve been buying this year and the 25th and final of the year was noise-rap group Clipping.’s 2014 masterwork Clppng. This has got to be the most entrancing collection of abrasive sounds I’ve heard, and vocalist Daveed Diggs (of Hamilton the musical fame) is one of the best in the game right now. Every feature on this thing is dope too, especially Mariel’s on this track

Listen/buy on bandcamp


radiohead-moonRadiohead – Decks Dark

This tweet is about Decks Dark. It’s a good song on a good album that I’ll be writing about more soon


p-o-s-lanesP.O.S – Lanes

Aw shit fucking yeah. We’re getting new P.O.S in 2017. The dude is easily one of my favourite rappers, and everything he’s released so far from this new album has been enough to get me hella excited for Chill, dummy. With appearances from Astronautalis, Allan Kingdom, Open Mike Eagle (!!), Busdriver, Kathleen Hanna and Justin Vernon there is no doubt that this album is going to be worth the wait. Aw shit fucking yeah.


savages-adore-lifeSavages – T.I.W.Y.G. / When In Love

Part of me is having a real hard time accepting that this album came out this year because it feels like I’ve lived inside every single moment on it for way longer than a year. Top to finish this is some of the best goddamn post-punk I’ve listened to, and the tracks I’ve included here are two of the standouts for sure. Try not to get hype as shit when the whistle blows in T.I.W.Y.G. Try not to get caught up in the menacing burn of When In Love. I dare you


parquet-courts-human-perfParquet Courts – Captive of the Sun

See if I had made an AOTY list any time in the past couple weeks I probably would have forgotten to include this album and that would’ve been fucked up. I’ve included this track because a) it’s a fucking jam and b) it gives me an excuse to bring up the holy-shit-what-is-this-why-does-this-work-so-damn-well combo of Parquet Courts and Bun B from their performance on Colbert’s show earlier this year. Pretty sure I’ve read somewhere that they’re teaming up to work on something else too. Sign me the fuck up.


gold-panda-gladybGold Panda – I Am Real Punk

I keep finding new things to love about this entire album. The pallette of sounds used on this thing is incredibly beautiful and evocative, I can’t think of another album that so completely and totally sounds how I feel a place I’ve never been to would be described in sound. I’m not sure how easy to follow my logic is there but it makes sense to me so ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Listen/buy on bandcamp


atdi-contaAt The Drive-In – Governed by Contagion

Between At The Drive-In and The Mars Volta (and like two listens of Antimasque) I don’t even want to imagine how much of my life I’ve spent listening to the music of Omar Rodriguez-Lopez and Cedric Bixler-Zavala. I wouldn’t take back a second though, and I’m including this new track in that. Sure, it’s not the same but like with AmFo II that doesn’t bother me in the slightest. Different is good as long as the music is still worth it. And this is. 2016 is gonna be a difficult year of music to top, but 2017 looks like its gonna try its best


db-aeDanny Brown – Really Doe (Feat. Kendrick Lamar, Ab-Soul & Earl Sweatshirt)

I’m pretty ready to crown this posse cut of the year but to be honest I can’t think of many others I’ve even heard this year. Throw em this way but honestly it’ll be hard for any track to have a verse as great as Earl’s is on this track. I love this whole album, and I love Danny but I need more of this Earl and I need it now (IDLS was dope too tho). Gonna do my best to bump this shit all summer long


angel-olsen-my-womanAngel Olsen – Woman

It wouldn’t be right to close out the year of proper lists without including an Angel Olsen track. After her mind blowing concert last week I had this song stuck in my head for at least two days. She closed her set with it and it was goddamn perfect. Even on record, her delivery of “I dare you to understand, what makes me a woman” gives me shivers but experiencing it live was a completely different story and I hope you all get the chance to experience it for yourself


Leave a Reply

