Topshelf Records, probably my favourite record label out there right now, turns 11 today so in celebration I’ve put together a list of 11 albums they’ve released that you need to hear.

Ratboys – AOID

I’ve said it before and I won’t stop saying it until more people are shouting it from the rooftops but Ratboys are the goddang best. This album is infinitely re-playable, a catchy piece of “post-country” filled with beautiful melodies and strong songwriting.


Prawn – Kingfisher

Listen to this album but also listen to everything else Prawn have done because they too are the best. Their twinkly, post-rock-esque brand of emo is what drew my attention to the label in the first place and I’ll forever be thankful


Field Mouse – Episodic

Field Mouse might be the most underrated of the bands I’m shining light on here. Their brand of dreamy, shoegaze-y rock is incredibly well done, both on this album and Hold Still Life. Let their fuzzy walls of sound wash over you and take you away


Sorority Noise – Joy, Departed

I’ve only recently started listening to this album but of late it’s been almost the only thing constantly in rotation. The songs on here are full of such vivid emotional imagery, and make for a listening experience that’s equal measures catchy and cathartic


Toe – Hear You

Toe have been cranking out some of the best math-rock for a while now and all their albums are worth checking out for sure but I’ve put Hear You here mostly as a reminder to myself to listen to it more often. But also because it’s fucking great, make sure you check the video for Song Silly too


You Blew It! – Keep Doing What You’re Doing

This was one of the first albums I bought on vinyl and it’s still one of the best in that grey area where pop punk and emo overlap. I don’t know if it’s my favourite You Blew It album but that’s only because each of them is so good in their own way


Their / They’re / There – Analog Weekend

The only disappointing thing about this indie rock supergroup feat. Evan Weiss, Mike Kinsella and Matthew Frank is that they aren’t cranking out more music all the time. Don’t get me wrong, they’re all fantastic on their other projects but damn if this project doesn’t sound special. Hope this isn’t the last we hear from them


Enemies – Valuables

I’ve written about Enemies on here before a bunch but I’ll repeat myself in saying this final album from the Irish math-rock greats is as beautiful a goodbye as you could ever wish for from a band. I’m sad they’re gone, but not sad that this was the last gift they put together for us


The World Is A Beautiful Place & I Am No Longer Afraid To Die – DTNY / LLHB

I’m going to cheat a little bit and include both of these EPs, released either side of the fantastic Harmlessness because I don’t want to have to choose just one of them and they link together anyway so fuck it


Jay Som – Turn Into

Another album I’ve only been listening to this past month or so but damn I love it so much and it easily deserves a spot among my favourites already. Every song on here is mind-blowingly great and I doubt I’ll ever tire of listening to it


Crash Of Rhinos – Knots

I’m still sad that we’ll never get any more music from either Crash of Rhinos (or The Little Explorer) but Knots is still a fantastic listen no matter how much that hurts. Absolutely brilliant math-y emo-y indie-y rock


Leave a Reply

