It’s the 88th day of the year AKA Piano Day so here’s 10 piano-led tunes to help you celebrate. Playlist is up on Spotify over here


Queens of the Stone Age – Like Clockwork

One of my favourite QOTSA songs and maybe the most devastating song they’ve done yet. A huge part of why it’s so effective is that melancholy piano motif that the song is based around, I love it and I hope whenever we get something new from them it includes something along these lines


Sampha – No One Knows Me (Like the Piano)

Still one of the best songs I’ve heard this year so far. It still to this day leaves me speechless so I’ll let the song speak the words I would otherwise write here


Julien Baker – Go Home

I was pretty torn about whether I should include this song or the piano version of Good News but I went with Go Home because a) I talked about Good News this week already and b) Go Home is also an incredibly moving song that I want more people to hear. It closes out Sprained Ankle so well, that outro where the radio broadcast comes through over the amp is such a fitting closing to the album


Angel Olsen – Pops

Again, another album closer. This one wraps up side B of MY WOMAN in a manner that’s pretty on par with Go Home, it captures the overall vibe while doing something pretty different instrumentally to what has come before it


Nils Frahm – Wall

I wasn’t going to make a Piano Day playlist and not include at least one track from the man behind the day. This song is off the album Solo that he released for free on Piano Day a few years ago and was my introduction to Nils and his work. I’m glad because there isn’t anything he’s done that I’ve disliked. Mad props for the good idea that is Piano Day


Vince Staples – Señorita

IMO maybe the most memorable piano part on a rap song since Runaway*. I can’t not get hype as hell when I hear it


Broken Social Scene – Lover’s Spit

I’ve included this because all this talk about a new Broken Social Scene album has me thinking about  them a lot and this was the first song of theirs I could think of with piano in it. I don’t think I’ve truly appreciated this on its own as a song before now, usually when I hear it it’s during a listen to You Forgot It In People where it’s a great piece of a greater puzzle but here, on its own, I see I maybe underrated it. It’s truly beautiful


Foxing – Redwoods Two

If this shit doesn’t hit you hard you might not have a soul. I liked the original from Dealer a lot but whoa this one is next level. It’s so deeply moving, with a fantastic vocal performance by Lena Woods and goddang I just love everything about it


Vanessa Carlton – A Thousand Miles

This song was one of the first ones I thought of when I decided to do this and it has barely left it since so it would be wrong to leave it off. Bet it’s still stuck in my head a week from now


Kanye West – Runaway (feat. Pusha T)

How am I supposed to make a list of 10 songs with piano and not put Runaway on it? I don’t know which is why it is


*this is based on absolutely no research whatsoever

Leave a Reply

