Ayyyyyypril. It’s April. Here’s yr first playlist for this month (Spotify link over hurr)


Broken Social Scene – Halfway Home

Ever since news began floating around about a new Broken Social Scene album coming out this year I’ve been cautiously hopeful. I’ve been burned by false reunion rumours before, and there’s a shitload of people they would need to get onboard for that to happen but damn they’re really doing it. Halfway Home is a solid example of everything I love about Broken Social Scene, the layered vocals, the driving, kinda-restrained guitar, the triumphant horns. It’s glorious, and so was their performance of it on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert


Kelly Lee Owens – Bird

Shoutout to Bandcamp Weekly for putting me on to this fantastic album from Kelly Lee Owens, it’s exactly my kind of electronic album, in that I have no idea how to describe it but it scratches all the itches I get for the genre. The whole album is really good but this was the song they had on Bandcamp Weekly and it’s the one that’s stood out the most so far so here it is


Kendrick Lamar – HUMBLE.

It really looks like we’re getting a new Kdot album next week, hallelujah. I’m not as keen on this song as a lot of other people seem to be but it’s still damn good, and that music video is one of the best I’ve seen in awhile so I’m hype af for whatever ends up coming next week


indi. – Precipice

I have no idea when the great Doprah hiatus of 2016-20?? will end but but I do know it’s a lot easier to handle with good songs like this one that indi. just released this week. The song itself is full of skittering drums, eerie synths and a solid string section and comes with a typically strange video courtesy of the Thunderlips team. Here’s hoping we don’t have to wait too long to hear more


Forest Swords – Arms Out

Three weeks ago we got our first new Forest Swords track in a while and now we’ve got another one AND promise of an album on the way. It feels good, Arms Out sounds good, and I can’t wait to get to listen to Compassion in full


Fazerdaze – Take It Slow

Another week, another dope ass Fazerdaze tune. We’re just over a month out from Morningside and if this and the other songs released from it so far are any indication that wait is going to be way more than worth it


Explosions In The Sky – The Ecstatics

It’s been a really good week for fantastic music videos. Like this one. Holy shit, what a fittingly beautiful work of art. I’ve been an ardent defender of The Wilderness since it came out (because it’s maybe the best EITS album) and this song is just one of many great ones on that thing but holy shit the video is something else entirely. Please watch it


Tricot – DeDeDe

I’ve lost track of all the albums that I’m looking forward to hearing this year because they just keep goddamn coming. I’ll definitely be keeping an ear out for Tricot’s 3 tho cos this song is gooooood just like everything else of theirs I’ve heard


Salami Rose Joe Louis – i miss you so

Once again shout out to Bandcamp Weekly. Pretty sure they played a song by Salami Rose right after the Kelly Lee Owens one (or really close anyway) but it was a dope stretch of tunes regardless. I described Salami Rose Joe Louis’ music to a friend earlier this week as Knxwledge x Beth from Portishead and I know that’s not entirely accurate but I also can’t think of a better way of describing how good it is so I’m sticking with it for now


Diet Cig – Bath Bomb

Swear I’m Good At This is streaming on NPR in its entirety and holy fuck it’s as good as I was expecting it to be. I must’ve listened to it around 10 times at work on Friday alone, and I’ll probably keep adding to that this coming week. It’s good. Out of the tracks I hadn’t heard before the full stream, Bath Bomb was the one that hit me the most, something about those bells just sounds so damn great. Seriously, the album is like half an hour long, do yourself a favour and go listen to it

https://www.npr.org/player/embed/521959474/521966782


 

Leave a Reply

