Ayyyy how’s it going y’all. I didn’t mean for this week to be so heavy on the chill tunes but it is so I hope that’s what y’all are down for. You can find them on Spotify right HERE


SZA – Doves in the Wind (feat. Kendrick Lamar)

Whew the long awaited Ctrl doesn’t disappoint. Sure, it sounds like it’d sound even better against a summery backdrop but that’s not enough of a downside to stop me from digging everything else going on on here. This track is an early standout because I mean c’mon it’s the only song on here with KDot on it (tho that Isaiah track comes close) but yeah the whole thing is really nice


Joyce Manor – Schley

I saw Joyce Manor almost a week ago & I’m still not over how fucking sick a show it was. Not only did I manage to get insanely close, insanely loose & insanely sweaty but they played pretty much all of Never Hungover Again which is still my favourite thing they’ve released so far. It was a very fucking dope concert & I really really hope if you get the chance to see them you take it


Emily Haines & the Soft Skeleton – Fatal Gift

This is the first song that involves Emily Haines that I’ve heard that wasn’t with Broken Social Scene so I have no idea if this is indicative of either what her prior solo work sounds like or if Metric sound anything like this but goddamn I need to find out. This track is beautiful, from the vocal & piano intro to the part where the eerie backing vocals & synth & guitar kick in it’s all fucking rad. It sounds like something I didn’t know I was missing in my life but now that I have it I’m going to do everything in my power to seek out everything even vaguely similar


Slaughter Beach, Dog – Building the Ark

I’ve been listening to Jake’s Welcome a whole lot this week & enjoying the shit out of it so I was stoked to see a new Slaughter Beach, Dog track drop ahead of a new EP out soon. Building the Ark is pretty different to anything on Welcome but it’s not a huge departure. It’s a more laidback affair, unfolding at a relaxed pace but with all the usual hallmarks that make Jake’s music so goddamn good


Japanese Breakfast – Boyish

Fuuuuuuuuck yes. This is so good. How am I supposed to wait any longer for Soft Sounds From Another Planet when both this track & Machinist are so fucking fantastic? I loved this song enough when it was a Little Big League track but here it sounds even better, the first thing it reminded me of was Angel Olsen & I mean that in the best way possible. It’s a beautiful song & I can’t wait to overplay the goddamn shit out of it


Elsa Hewitt – Breathing SpaceX

Elsa Hewitt is about to release the second of three albums she’s got lined up for release this year & if this single & first album Cameras From Mars it’s going to be well worth checking out. Breathing SpaceX is a v subdued beat, I dig the way it bounces along with other noises intruding like glimpses into alternate dimensions. It’s v chill & v dope & I can’t wait to hear more


Thunder Dreamer – Capture

Last week I talked about how You Know Me by these dudes was one of my favourite tracks of the year so far so believe me when I say I like this track even more. It sounds like My Morning Jacket linked up with Conor from Foxing & put together an atmospheric rocker. The interplay between piano & guitar on this track is seriously incredible. Don’t sleep on these guys


Aaron West & the Roaring Twenties – Our Apartment

I was pretty relieved to find out this song was part of a fictional story because holy shit does it sound deeply, painfully real. The way Soupy’s vocals crack every now & again & the absolutely heartbreaking story that unfolds over the duration of this song are completely devastating. All of the kudos to Soupy for creating something that feels so genuinely real


Vagabon – Fear & Force

If you haven’t listened to Vagabon’s Infinite Worlds yet you are well & truly sleepin’. It is still one of the best things I’ve heard this year so far & Fear & Force is yet another example of why. I love the way this song gradually intensifies as the track goes on, I love the way everything drops away for the drum-machine anchored chorus & most of all I love that voice


Manchester Orchestra – The Gold

Honestly the best part of a new Manchester Orchestra track is that it reminds me of how fucking fantastic they are live & sparks up the hope that I’ll get another chance to witness them doing their thing at their absolute best. The Gold is a pretty, moving piece of music don’t get me wrong but yeah. Come back to New Zealand soon guys. We miss you


 

Leave a Reply

