Yoooo week 42. I’ve done my best to pick 10 good songs & p sure I’ve done a good job. Have at it

SPOTIFY


Milo – Magician (Suture)

It’s been a good week to be a Milo fan. Not only did we get this fucking rad first taste of what his upcoming album who told you to think​?​?​!​!​?​!​?​!​?​! but he dropped a whole mixtape on us for his other project Scallops Hotel. That whole thing is really good but it’s this song that’s got me most excited. I’ve loved this dude’s raps for a few years now & he has yet to put out anything less than great. His most recent full Milo album, So the Flies Don’t Come still gets regular rotation & judging by this first look at the new shit, this will be joining it


Tyler, The Creator – 911 / Mr. Lonely [feat. Frank Ocean]

I struggled with which of the two good tracks Tyler dropped almost out of nowhere this week to include here, they’re both good & they both have really good feature appearances but I went with 911 / Mr. Lonely because whew that Frank Feature & cos vibey Tyler is Tyler at his best imo


Vince Staples – Crabs in a Bucket

Part of what I love so much about this song is that it sounds like the closest thing we’ll probably get to Vince rapping over a Burial beat. I knew like halfway through this track that the album was going to be very different from what I thought it would be & that that would be a good thing. It sets the stage for what follows perfectly, easing you into this next step forward before dropping everything away & shifting. & god damn you can’t beat Vince songs with Kilo Kish on them, they make a fucking gr8 team


Soccer Mommy – Allison

Soccer Mommy is pretty much the only thing I listened to at work this whole week at least until that new Ratboys album started streaming. All of the Soccer Mommy projects that are out so far are definitely worth checking out but it’s Allison, one of two completely new tracks included on her upcoming collection Collection, that grabbed my attention most of all. It’s a stunning song, beautifully simple with some incredible vocal harmonies & looping guitar parts. Keen af to hear what she does next


Ratboys – Crying About the Planets

Yooooooooo the new Ratboys album is finally out & god damn it’s exactly what I hoped it would be. The whole thing is definitely worth yr attention but this track is the one that stood out the most my first listens. It’s a slowly unfurling tale of Australian explorer Douglas Mawson that draws you in before delivering a crushing climax that’s new territory for these guys while still fitting their sound. It’s sick & I love it


The National – Guilty Party

Somebody I think on /r/indieheads called Guilty Party “like if Thom Yorke remixed About Today” & it’s a fucking apt call. This song is fucking incredible & like all of their songs it’s one that gets even better the more it sinks into yr skin. It’s beautifully arranged because it’s a The National song so of course it is. It never fully explodes like it seems it’s going to but every new element that shows up is executed perfectly, the noodly synth (or guitar part) that gives way to muted brass stabs during the second half of the track is especially tight. Ahh. I love this fucking band & Sleep Well Beast is probably gonna end up being my favourite thing released this year


indi – Tablelands

Oh man this song is beautiful I wish it were like 4 or 5 times longer but since it’s not I’ll have to just loop it until Precipice comes out. It feels like this album has been in the works for a loooong time & I can’t wait to hear what she’s been working on, especially given how good both the singles from it are (& how good everything else she’s released is too)


Beach House – Baseball Diamond

Big s/o to Beach House for doing what they do & doing it so well & doing it especially well on this jam of a track. Love yr work please don’t ever stop


Football, etc. – Space

My vinyl copy of Corner showed up this week ensuring I’m gonna spend a whole bunch more time sinking into every expertly crafted moment on this thing. Space isn’t a track that stood out or captured me right away like some of the others on the album, but it’s a sick example of everything good about this band. Tight af drumming, nice af vocals & some of the best guitar parts on the album. I’m still not ranking my albums of the year or anything but feel p comfortable saying this is one of my favourites so far


Mogwai – Party in the Dark

This song is pretty much a continuation of the shoegazey, more straightforward indie rock path Mogwai took a step onto with their excellent Teenage Exorcists song from a couple of years ago & like that song it’s a dope example of a band pushing at the boundaries of their sound & stretching it into a different shape. It’s still absolutely recognisably Mogwai but at the same time stands so apart from the general sound of the larger portion of their work. It’s rad, & between this & Coolverine I’m very much looking forward to hearing Every Country’s Sun in full


 

Leave a Reply

