Ayy. I don’t really have much to say up top this week except fuck nazis & fuck white supremacists & fuck fascists too. RIP Heather Heyer.

SPOTIFY


Mermaidens – Satsuma

Apologies to everybody who told me to listen to Mermaidens before this week y’all were right I was wrong they’re dope as heck. They’re like a more post-punk Warpaint & that is the sickest fucking combo


Prawn – North Lynx

Oh shit yeah new Prawn. These guys have yet to put out anything less than fantastic imo & if this song is any indication they’re not about to start with the upcoming Run. Good god damn that outro part is so fucking sick I want to loop it forever


Small Circle – Spinning

As much as I love Old Gray & Sorority Noise I’m pretty glad that Small Circle is the project that’s seemingly going to be the focus for the next little while as everything they’ve put out so far fits my listening habits of late more than the heavier more emotional stuff of the other two projects. Spinning is an incredibly nice song that gives me the impression that this upcoming album is gonna be the perfect companion piece to People Like You’s Verse as a weekend afternoon’s reading soundtracks. I can’t wait


The National – Carin at the Liquor Store

It’s a foregone conclusion that any song The National release is gonna end up on one of my playlists. I’m looking forward to Sleep Well Beast more than any other album this year & Carin at the Liquor Store is yet more evidence that this album is going to be fucking amazing. I love the piano I love that drenched guitar solo I love Matt’s lyrics I love this fucking band


Great Grandpa – Favorite Show

In a few weeks there will be an Audiotree session by these guys dropping on Bandcamp / Spotify / YouTube & I’m going to need you all to watch it (I’ll remind you) because I woke up just in time to catch it this morning & it was some incredibly good shit. This song & All Things Must Behave / Eternal Friend were highlights but also all the banter was just A+


Pet Symmetry – My Exhausted Month (Of May) [Audiotree Live Version]

I’ve had this song stuck in my head pretty much this entire week & that’s dope cos it rules. Once again please make sure you watch this whole session / listen to Vision (v slept on imo & I’m including myself in that) hell listen to Pets Hounds too while yr at it. It’s all fucking sick


Hinds – Carribean Moon

I can’t wait to listen to this song in the summertime because it feels like a perfect beach anthem. I can’t wait to hear what Hinds have been working on. I miss this band


milo – Landscaping (feat. Elucid)

I’m still only a few listens (of no doubt many) into Who told you to think??!!?!?!?! but so far this is probably my favourite track on here. That piano, that monster Elucid verse, that equally fucking rad milo verse, all of it. Bless the unimpressed alchemist


FKA Twigs – Video Girl

This song was playing over the PA when I was at the movies earlier today & it reminded me that it’s been far too long since I last listened to LP1 so I’m about to do a bunch of that


David Bowie – Space Oddity

Valerian & the City of a Thousand Planets is not the best movie I’ve seen this year but I did enjoy it way more than I was expecting to. The plot wasn’t amazing, there weren’t enough women (or women w agency at least) but damn if I didn’t love everything about the world it was set in & how gorgeous it all looked. The concept behind the city itself is fucking rad & “Big Market” is one of the coolest concepts I’ve seen in a sci-fi recently anyway. Space Oddity plays over the opening scene & it is used pretty dang perfectly w the vibe of the song perfectly suited to the sentiment that scene is trying to get across


Leave a Reply

