Heyyyy! Hope y’all had good weekends & that if you went along to Record Store Day on Saturday you got everything you were after like I did. Here are some songs

SPOTIFY


Peach Kelli Pop – Drug Store’s Symbol of Happiness

Joyce Manor tweeted this song out sometime over the last couple of weeks & I loved it immediately. It’s a short poppy ripper of a track & has definitely motivated me to check out more of their work


No Vacation – Yam Yam (Audiotree Live Session)

A v nice live version of a v nice song. Can’t wait to hear where this band go next


Hop Along – What the Writer Meant

As of right now this is my favourite track on Bark Your Head Off, Dog but given how this “favourites” thing has been going since that album came out it’ll probably be a different one by the time I finish this write up


Night Flowers – Head On

I’m still not sure if the ‘dancey’ vibe this song gives me is a result of being surrounded by the lush dreaminess of the rest of the (also v good) album but even if that’s true it’s still a tune


Sweet Valley – Chameleon

I didn’t pay much attention to any of the track titles on either of the two initial listens I’ve given the dope new sequel that is Eternal Champ II but I did take note of this one which is a melodic wonder of a song


Wax Chattels – Career

Wax Chattels just keep continuing to kill it. Can’t wait for this album


Interpol – The Heinrich Maneuver

I had this song stuck in my head & then started figuring out how to play it on guitar & now it’s even more firmly lodged in it & I’m not even a little mad about it


Deafheaven – Honeycomb

Oh goddamn it feels good to have new Deafheaven music. This song is an impressive odyssey of a tune that maps out some until now unexplored sonic territory for the band & I’m here for it


Many Rooms – This Place is Haunted

Throw all the track titles of this album on a wall & throw a dart at em & you’ll hit a work of art that deserves a place on one of these lists. The whole thing is a wonderfully haunting work of texture & mood & it’s gonna be my go-to rainy day album for the foreseeable future


Saba – PROM / KING

I’m still not over how immensely affecting & moving this song is. It’s the emotional centrepoint of an already deeply emotional album & if you can get through it without feeling Saba’s pain you just might be a monster


 

Leave a comment